THE ART OF KATI KILL

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

GODS:  The Male Form

As an artist, I would describe myself with two words: perceptive and daring.  I like to observe people, especially dancers, and the way they move.  I like to see the shapes they create with their bodies and how light and shadow play together.  I try to capture the exact moment in time when light and shadow make the perfect shape on and around my subjects.  I defy the colors of nature and instead choose those in which I feel provoke the true feelings of my subjects at the time when I am painting them.

I have always loved to dance and have been a professional dancer for the last 5 years.  I was always fascinated with the female form and how we use our bodies as shells to hide our true selves. With this show I will be dealing with the male form and how their bodies change when viewed from the corner of my eye. My color palate is based on what I think are male colors and the textures are those in which I find reflect male movement. My use of glitter is to reflect the light I find when glimpsing into the human soul.  Acrylics are the medium I have had a fondness for since I first began painting in my youth and was a medium I wanted to go back to and to re-master.  To me, the most ideal male form is that of a Roman or Greek god.  When it is well taken care of, it becomes a beautiful piece of work.  I find I must capture it, to savour it and to let it become free.

I live locally in Philadelphia and have worked as an artist and entertainer for the last 6 years.  I grew up in the middle of nowhere in northern Pennsylvania and moved to Philadelphia  in 1999 to finish my degree. I received my AFA in Fine Art at Keystone College and then my BFA in Painting and Drawing from the University of the Arts. After graduating in 2001, I worked for a week and decided fate needed me in London, England.  While there I surrounded myself with fashion, music, and celebrities.  Living in London was rough.  However, I learned to live like a true “starving artist”.  Not only was I living on minimum wage, I had to survive without being an artist who creates her passion.  After I returned to the US I had to “starve” artistically for 3 more years.  As a result it felt amazing to be able to hold a brush again.  All I needed was a place to create.  I became part of an art collective called Chemical Cove where I had the opportunity to make a mess and as they say, be free again. Be myself again.

You can see more of my work and info at www.kati-kill.com

COME OUT AND MEET KATI and see her work at the boutique on Friday, February 25th from 7 – 9pm!

Leave a Reply

